It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:58 pm

Regarding failure of a spell 

Post Regarding failure of a spell
Hello all, :)

I am fairly new to Desolation and have been reading it a lot these past weeks, so I have a question regarding page 131 of the core book. Under Step 6: Resolve the spell effect, one of the four outcomes is: "Failure - Not enough successes, the spell fails, but may have limited effects."

How do you handle these limited effects, do you just reduced duration, damage, targets effected etc or something completly different?. Any thoughts on this will be greatly appreciated.

Fri May 21, 2010 6:56 am
Scavenger
Scavenger

Post Re: Regarding failure of a spell
I handle in a quite easy way, either the spell works or it doesn't. The limited effect maybe shows up in my description of the outcome of the spell but nothing more.

Fri May 21, 2010 10:23 am
Profile ICQ

I handle it by having the spell manifest in some visible way, but with no external effects. So if a damaging spell was attempted and the character failed, it may become nothing more than a phantom bolt of energy that never reaches the target. This ensures that something happens so that others can tell magic was used so they can respond, ahem, accordingly.

For more creative uses this might become a different issue entirely, in which case I take it as thus: if the spell is meant to do something physical, let some semblance of it remain (a visible manifestation, sparks, noises, etc), if not, nothing happens.

Fri May 21, 2010 12:03 pm
Profile WWW

I thank you for your prompt answers on the spell failure, it seems that the consensus of opinion is the spell fails with only a slight visual or sound effect at best. I think using that method seems the simplest solution, I am greatful for your insight guys. :)

Mon May 24, 2010 1:38 am
Playtest Survivor
Playtest Survivor

Hullo, Rhetorical Heretic,

Rhetorical Heretic wrote:
Hello all, :)