It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:54 pm

Nutritional Value 
Scavenger
Scavenger

Post Nutritional Value
In yesterday's game session the question came up how realistic the Nutritional Value of the animals and monsters in the Desolation core rulebook is. And after looking through the tables I really have to say that these values are far from reality. A boar or a deer shall only feed four people? This is far too little. And when I eat half a duck I'm completely sate but a small bird of pray shall only have a value of 1? That doesn't fit!

How do you handle NVs?

Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:38 am
Profile ICQ
Scavenger
Scavenger

Post Re: Nutritional Value
I'm no wildlife expert, but I assume the NVs take into consideration that the animals depicted are not plump, well-fed specimens, but scrawny survivors scrabbling for their own sustenance in the post-apocalyptic landscape. ;)

"Love is a battlefield... littered with corpses."

Free-floating agent of chaos. Reasonable rates. Inquire within.

Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:37 am
Site Admin

There was much discussion on whether to try to make the nutritional system more realistic or more streamlined. We decided, with all of the variables (some animals are better fed, some plants and animals are naturally more nutritious, wild vs. farm-raised, some animals of the same species vary widely in size, the post-apocalyptic starvation factor, the spoilage rates, larger people may need more food before feeling full, etc.), that it would be more fun to play if the NV system were streamlined. The GM could then determine whether to increase or decrease the NV based on factors in his/her campaign.

So the NVs deal with those averages. Also remember that spoilage is an issue. The NVs only account for fresh meat. If the players have the means to preserve the meat in some way, then they should be able to get more meals out of it than the NV indicates.

Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:06 pm
Profile WWW
Scavenger
Scavenger